About gold

Alloy

Some jewellers use recycled gold that they recast without refining them. The product obtained is less expensive, of lesser quality and more fragile. Honest jewellers do not use this method.

Composition of gold:
Gold
18 Kt yellow
18 Kt white
14 Kt yellow
14 Kt white
10 Kt yellow
10 Kt white
Copper
Sterling silver
Alloy
75 % 12.50 % silver 12.50 % copper
75 % 12.50 % 12.50 % brass
58.50 % 20.75 % silver 20.75 % copper
58.50 % 20.75 % 20.75 % brass
41.50 % 29.25 % silver 29.25 % copper
41.50 % 29.25 % 29.25 % brass
Alloy
92.50 % 7.50 % copper
Be vigilant!

When you wish to purchase a jewel, don’t let deceptive bargains fool you. When it comes to jewels, people fall into the trap by only looking at bargains of 50% to 80%. Take into account the ”net” price, which is the price that you will have to pay.

Colour of gold

For a number of years, jewels are made with two and even sometimes three colours of gold. As a matter of fact, gold, should it be yellow, white or pink, can create magnificent jewels. The colour of gold is modified by using different metals in the alloy to reduce its fineness.

For example: yellow gold 10/24 of pure gold and 14/24 allow of silver and copper. White gold is an alloy made of nickel.

Methods of production

bague-orThere are several methods of production in jewelry making. Each one has its particularities. A jewel can be made of solid pieces that can be laminated, binded, carved, filed, etc. Another very common method is casting, which is a very popular and solid way of creating jewels.

The striking system is also more and more used. It consists on striking, with a template, on a very thin gold plate to forge the jewel by minimizing the quantity of metal used.  This method lowers considerably the price of the jewel, but also its resistance..

À propos de l’or

Alliage

Certains bijoutiers utilisent de l’or recyclé qu’ils recoulent sans le raffiner. Le produit qui en résulte est moins cher, de moins bonne qualité et plus fragile. Les bijoutiers consciencieux n’utilisent pas cette méthode.

Composition de l’or :
Or

18 ct jaune
18 ct blanc
14 ct jaune
14 ct blanc
10 ct jaune
10 ct blanc

Argent

Argent sterling

Alliage

75 % 12,50 % argent 12,50 % cuivre
75 % 12,50 % nickel 12,50 % laiton
58,50 % 20,75 % argent 20,75 % cuivre
58,50 % 20,75 % nickel 20,75 % laiton
41,50 % 29,25 % argent 29,25 % cuivre
41,50 % 29,25 % nickel 29,25 % laiton

Alliage

92,50 % 7,50 % cuivre

Soyez vigilants!

Lorsque vous souhaitez vous procurer un bijou, il ne faut pas vous laisser berner par des rabais trompeurs. En matière de bijoux, les gens tombent dans le piège en ne regardant que les rabais de 50 % à 80 %. Tenez compte du prix « net », soit le prix que vous aurez à débourser.

Couleur de l’or

Depuis plusieurs années, les bijoux sont conçus avec de l’or de deux couleurs et parfois même de trois couleurs. En effet, l’or, qu’il soit jaune, blanc ou rose, peut créer de magnifiques bijoux. La couleur de l’or est modifiée en utilisant des métaux différents dans l’alliage pour en réduire le titre.

Par exemple : or jaune 10/24 d’or pur et 14/24 d’alliage composé d’argent et de cuivre. Le nickel est utilisé pour l’alliage dans l’or blanc.

Méthodes de fabrication

bague-orIl existe plusieurs méthodes de fabrication en joaillerie. Chacune a ses particularités. On peut fabriquer un bijou à partir de pièces solides qu’on peut laminer, plier, découper, limer et plus encore. Une autre méthode très courante est le coulage, ou casting, fort populaire et solide pour la confection de bijoux.

Le système de frappe est aussi de plus en plus utilisé. Il consiste à frapper, à l’aide d’une matrice, sur une plaque d’or très mince afin de former le bijou en minimisant la quantité de métal utilisé. Cette façon de faire diminue de beaucoup le coût du bijou, mais aussi sa résistance.